Knowing Your Neighbor’s Culture Avoids Problems

30 11 2011

Integrating all religions in the European Society is a big deal for the European Union. The European Union has association trades with some Muslim countries as Morocco. Despite many efforts done for the European Government and the states members leaders religious conflicts have not been solved yet.

European governments still have to face complicated situations related with religion.

The controversial caricatures of Prophet Mahoma published in Danish newspaper “Jyllands Postema” are a good example.  The Prophet was drawn with a bomb as a turban. In the following days other European media joined to “Jyllands Postema” and they also published cartoons which were qualified for the Muslim Community as offensive and it sparked their wrath.

These kinds of conflicts reflect lack of knowledge of the religion of our neighbors. The solution is not so far as seems. Acting with respect and learning a bit more about other cultures must help us to build a healthier society.

In this case the European Government might take as example the city of Sofia. I was there last weekend and I checked for myself they have a lot of different religious places. I entered in some of them and I saw Muslims, orthodox Christian and Jewish praying in different churches, cathedral, mosques and synagogues. Furthermore nobody from other religions was bothering around at least as far as I stayed there.

Nevertheless as I know thanks to a comment in this post, I could have experienced a fake illusion of tolerance. I have to apologize for my ignorance of these facts and thank to milva113 for her corrections.  There is a political party in Bulgaria called “ATAKA“. Their supporters are racist and nationalist and they have starred some violent incidents against Muslim Community in Bulgaria.

However according to my own experience, I keep thinking that if Sofia is able to avoid fights between different religions, followers will be a great example how different religions could coexist in the same place. I promise to keep working in this topic hereafter.

In the map below you can see the huge variety of religious places that Sofia holds:

Actions

Information

5 responses

4 12 2011
milva113

Yes, Sofia is usually a tolerant place for other cultures…. as long as “Ataka” stays out of the picture.
You have chosen a controversial topic and I really like that, but your English could use serious improvement. I had hard time understanding in some places because come links are missing and so on….

4 12 2011
Javier Fernandez Diaz

Thanks for the information you provided me. It was really useful. I have changed most the post including some data about “ATAKA”.
I’m conscient of the fact my english is not so good as the AUBG average, because I haven’t worked on it since I was 18 years old. I’m trying to improve though. I re-writed this post looking for an easier understanding reading.
I really apreciate your effort for reading my post even knowing that you are going to find a lot of mistakes. So thanks a lot and please keep commenting!

4 12 2011
melodygilbert01

I like that you are open to discussion after hearing from your readings and that you want to keep learning more about your subject.

4 12 2011
melodygilbert01

Oops..that was supposed to say “readers” not “readings”…sorry about that!

6 12 2011
Javier Fernandez Diaz

I want to collect different opinions from bulgarians and foreigners for my final project, so whoever wants to participe just needs to comment here! It’s an invitation! I will be cool if I can get a lot of people, in this way we all could have a larger sight of the topic!
Thanks, I personally believe that the work of a journalist belongs to his readers somehow! According to my own opinion we have the ethic obligation to listen them and take into account their comments.

Leave a Reply

